Just a Click of the Mouse, and…

My son came home with the annual school photo packet, including requisite price list. They now offer retouching. That’s right folks; they wanna airbrush my kid. Zits are no problem now. For only 8 dollars, those pesky zits are gone! Hey, it’s cheaper than acne medicine! And if you have a scar, or teeth that just aren’t as white as you’d like, hair out of place, or skin color that’s not quite even, 12 dollars and you are a model of perfection!

Are you kidding me? Don’t we as a society have enough issues with body image, and self-esteem problems? When I was growing up, I kept waiting to be 5’10”, skinny, and blonde. As I went through my 100 pound weight loss, and my self-esteem improved, I could look in the mirror and really see myself. I learned to appreciate that I was curvy, broad shouldered, and strong. Skinny was definitely not my destined body type, and since I didn’t get taller than 5’5″, I kinda figured 5’10” wasn’t my destined height. Now the blonde thing, that’s a different story. I tried it once, and not surprisingly, it was so not me.

The media bombards us with images of what they deem to be perfect. So many adults, and children alike, strive for those images, not learning to appreciate the beauty they have, often at a cost. Offering retouching, only reinforces poor self-esteem issues. I for one, will NOT be airbrushing my child. I love him just the way he is, and hope he can look in the mirror and say the same.

Health, happiness, and love,
~T*

Leave a Reply

