Would You Eat Fake Chicken?

When I was younger, chicken in varied forms was served regularly, and a whole chicken in my family could feed us for days. We had chopped chicken liver, breaded chicken cutlets, chicken soup, chicken salad, and what my grandmother called the “pupik”, a Yiddish term for belly button. I still don’t know what that actually was, since I’ve now learned that chickens do not have belly buttons. Hmmm… But anyway, we used the chicken fat we got from cooking the skin, to cook up the “pupik”, and the other stuff that came in that little plastic bag inside the cavity. I don’t think any part of the chicken was wasted. Today, I can’t remember the last time I had chicken. I’m not vegan, but I don’t eat beef, pork, or fowl, and haven’t for years.

The majority of the meat substitutes out there contain way too many ingredients. They are my idea of vegetarian fast food, and I believe they should be consumed sparingly.  So when I read an article from the NY Times (see it at http://nyti.ms/xDDtYo), about a new vegan chicken substitute, I was intrigued.  Whether it actually lives up to it’s hype remains to be seen.  Now if they could only invent vegan “pupik”…

To your health and happiness,

Tami Rac

3 Responses to “Would You Eat Fake Chicken?”

  1. Alan Silverberg Says:

    Hi Tami, my father pronounced it “pipik”. We never ate any of that disgusting stuff, except for chicken liver. I only eat white meat, but I did eat chicken liver when I was little, probably before I realized what it was. I do remember my mother having a can of chicken fat, but I’m not sure what she used it for.

    • tamirac Says:

      Hi Alan. Thanks for commenting. I make a veggie chopped liver. The first time, my family was skeptical, but now they request it for the holidays. I also do a veggie kishka (aka: stuffed derma) that goes over well.

  2. laurinda - NY Introductions Says:

    Hi Tami, I never heard of “pupik” I too am curious to know exactly what it is since you said there is no “belly button” on a chicken. I never really thought about it. Anyway, I have cut back on red meat but not ready to cut out chicken. Let me know how the “Fake” chicken is – depending on your results of this “New Fake Chicken” I may give it a shot.

    Laurinda

Leave a Reply

